Today is Birthmother’s Day. Birthmother’s Day was created by a group of Seattle area birthmothers, in an effort not only to educate, but more importantly, to honor and remember. The first gathering was on the Saturday before Mother’s Day 1990.

If you are an adoptee, today is a day to honor the woman that gave you life. Even if she is not a part of your life, she deserves to be honored.

If you’re a birthmom, please take some time to honor yourself. As a birthmom myself, I can speak to how seldom we do that for ourselves, but it’s something that we need to do much more of.

Adoptee Tapping for Your Birthmom

Karate chop:

  • Even though she isn’t the person who raised me, I’m taking time today to honor my birthmother.
  • Even though I have a family that I love, I’m taking time today to honor my birthmom and to send love to her.
  • Because I know how hard it must have been for my birthmom to give me up, and because I care, I’m taking time today to honor my birthmom for giving me life.

Reminders:

Eyebrow: I honor my birthmom
Outside eye: She gave me life
Under eye: I appreciate my birthmom
Under nose: She gave me a loving family
Chin: I send healing to my birthmom
Collar bone: I know how hard it was for her
Under arm: I honor my birthmom
Top of head: For all she did for me

Eyebrow: I honor my birthmom
Outside eye: I send her positive energy
Under eye: I appreciate my birthmom
Under nose: I’m so grateful to her
Chin: Sending healing to my birthmom
Collar bone: To heal the pain she carries
Under arm: I honor my birthmom
Top of head: For all she did for me

Birthmom Tapping: Honoring Yourself

Karate chop:

  • Even though I didn’t get to raise my child, and it hurts to think about that, I deeply and profoundly love and accept myself.
  • Even though I had to give my child up and that always left a hole in my heart, I deeply and profoundly love and accept myself.
  • Even though I never got to mother my child, and that hurts a lot, I deeply and profoundly love and accept myself, and I hold myself in kindness and compassion.

Reminders:

Eyebrow: Today is my day
Outside eye: And I honor myself
Under eye: For giving my child life
Under nose: I remind myself
Chin: Of what a strong woman I am
Collar bone: I choose to transform my pain
Under arm: About the child I lost
Top of head: Into an energy of healing and peace.

Eyebrow: I’m a survivor
Outside eye: And I honor myself for that
Under eye: I am so strong
Under nose: And I appreciate that about me
Chin: Giving up my child was so hard
Collar bone: But I choose to bring healing to that
Under arm: Letting go of the pain
Top of head: Replacing it with peace and serenity.

